Speed vs Distance?

Hello! I am getting ready to go for my run and I am having an inner debate. Do I run 4 miles at a faster pace, 6 miles at my normal pace again or 10 at my turtle pace? Well, this is THE most asked training question. Which is better if I want to increase speed? Which is better if I am training for a half marathon? Which is better if I have a race in 2 days? ARRRGGGHHHH! It’s so confusing!

I went to runnersworld.com training page and looked for THE answer! Well, they have so much information and so many choices for training. If you want a 16 week ½ marathon training program, they’ve got it! If you want a 6 week training program for a 10K, they’ve got that, too! But, you see, I am doing all of these… so where do I go? Do I train for the 5K’s that I’m running in 3 weeks? Or do I go for the ½ marathon plan, but just keep repeating it since I have some 40 weeks until that race?

I poured over the information and finally came up with a plan! I am going to do a 6 week training program for a 10K and then a 6 week – 5K speed training and then, I will move into the ½ marathon! I don’t know if this is right or not, but at least I will be running! And isn’t that the most important thing anyway?

Leave a Reply

