Girls’ Weekend vs 10K Race

dsc02625I guess I need to explain a couple things about myself before I ask you to weigh in on my dilemma. I am a 40-something year old wife and mother, who enjoys her family, but also loves to spend time with her girlfriends. I usually plan 2 or 3 girls-only weekends away each year. Yes, my husband is a SAINT! I’ve been doing this for more than 10 years now and have come to really enjoy my time away  with no responsibilities (ie. lunches, laundry, breakfast, laundry, grocery, laundry….)! I know it sounds great! So what’s the problem?

Well, before I get into that let me tell you about my little running group. My running partners, (we’ll call them the Nieces) and I choose one charity race a month to run together! We’ve been doing this for just over a year and have had a blast! So for March we chose a 10K, which will be our longest race to date! We’ve been working up to running this 10K for a while now, by increasing our distance and working on our times. This is an important milestone in our running program, and a stepping stone to the half marathon, a goal we hope to accomplish by the end of the year.

So,  now to the dilemma! The girls’ weekend this year has been booked for the same weekend as this 10K race. What do I do? Do I go on the girls’ weekend and blow-off the race? I mean I can run anytime, right? But is that letting The Nieces down? Do I commit to the race and forget about this relaxing weekend at the beach complete with spa treatments? But I REALLY need a vacation with my girlfriends. You see, we’ve all been so busy with our lives, that we haven’t even had time to get together for dinner or a movie lately! Do I go and leave at 5:30AM on Saturday in order to make it to the race in time? That would mean I would have to behave Friday night, which is difficult, since Friday night is the BEST night at girls’ weekend! Maybe I could just go for a 10K run at the beach and log it on my Nike+. But I wouldn’t have The Nieces with me to celebrate our victory! UGGHHHH!!! I am torn!

OK! So now you’ve heard my dilemma and I’m sure you have a solution! Right? Help!

Leave a Reply

