How much is too much?

dsc_4439_2

I just read an article on Runner’s World about a man who has run everyday for the  last 38 years…EVERYDAY…38 YEARS!!!!  Are you KIDDING ME? And this article was actually published 2 years ago!!!! So he’s now run at least 1 mile a day for more than 14,000 consecutive days!!!! I AM AMAZED!!!!! What an accomplishment!!!

Well, come to think of it, it does sound a little compulsive, doesn’t it? Maybe I’m just jealous that I can’t beat this record! I mean, even if I start now (and I’m no spring chicken), he isn’t going to stop any time soon, so I really don’t see me surpassing him…ever!!! And you know, even if I had started way back when, it wouldn’t have happened! You see I would have had to run through PMS, the red headed cousin’s monthly visits, morning sickness, childbirth…twice, breastfeeding (that’s quite a visual, huh?)…4 hurricanes, and I could go on and on!!! OK, he ran on a broken foot while on a cruise ship during a tropical storm (I actually think that these were 2 separate incidents)…so what!!! This does not impress me!! Well, it does kind of impress me. OK, IT DOES  impress me! DARN IT!!!  Seriously, though, is this a healthy goal? How much is too much? Do you think that too much of a good thing could actually be bad?

You always hear about runners who have knee, hip and foot injuries caused by excessive running. Is this something that happens to everyone that runs too much? If exercise is a good thing, but too much is a bad thing, then how much is too much? The answer to this question will depend on the person, I assume. But how does one tell what their personal threshold is? Is this one of those philosophical questions? You know …”If a tree falls in the woods and nobody is there to hear it does it still make a sound?” “What came first, the chicken or the egg?” My answer to most of these questions is “Who cares!!!!”. But I actually want to know the answer to this one! I am intrigued! So intrigued, that I may actually try to figure this out!

I love to run! I feel free and happy with the sun on my back, the wind in my hair and my favorite song blaring in my ears!  But would I feel this way if I OD’ed on it? Would it get old? 14,000 straight days of anything would get monotonous, wouldn’t it?! But wait… we eat everyday, and I don’t EVER to get tired of eating!!! Maybe I could do this! I could run everyday! Not long distances, mind you, but 1 mile is completely doable! That would take no time at all! And how much damage can you do in 8 minutes of running?

Hear Ye, Hear Ye…I am officially announcing on this the 6th day of March in the year 2009, that I am going to run at least 1 mile everyday, rain or shine, PMS or hot flash, for as long as I can physically and mentally (I had to have an out!) stand it!! I will log my runs on the training log page if you want to follow along! Through this fete, I hope to answer that common question…Exactly how much is too much!

Got to GO RUN!!!

Leave a Reply

