I DID IT!!!

bike_riderGood Monday morning to you! I had a wonderful weekend and I just couldn’t wait to tell you that I finally did it! Yep that’s right…I did all 3 sprint distance events (.5 mile swim, 14 mile bike and 3 mile run) all in one day and with less then 30 minutes (or so) in between each. So I actually did what I like to call the “You CAN Do IT Triathlon”. It was a relief knowing that I can do all 3 events back to back and still live to talk about it!!!

The order was a little mixed up! You see we were being green (it is almost Earth Day) and rode our bikes to the pool at the high school first, which was about 7 miles. After a little conversation which made for a really slow transition, we did the swim, which was a wonderful “clear water” swim in a beautiful blue pool. No dark and murky lakes with monsters for me! Then, we had a little granola bar break, before biking back home. I really hadn’t intended to run after all this, but as I was closing in on home, I thought that this would be a GREAT opportunity to prove to myself that I can do this!! So I parked the bike, grabbed my iPod and hit the pavement for a 3 mile run! WOW! My legs were DONE!!!

So, what did I learn? Well, I know that the swim is going to be the hardest part for me! I can swim, (that is, if your definition of swim is keeping your head above water) but I’m not fast and therefore will probably be in the water FOREVER!!! The biking portion will be fine… not fast but adequate. You see, I don’t have a “super fast tri bike” in fact my bike is a crossover that looks more like a mountain bike and is really heavy with fat tires. Not exactly what you want in a triathlon, but I don’t want to spend a ton of $ on a new one! So I will make due! The run yesterday sucked! But it was 3:00PM and the sun was blazing down with no wind relief at all! Thankfully I cranked my music and just went into my auto-pilot mode. I am going to have to sneak my iPod on the Big Day! I realized that I can not do the run as tired as I will be without my music to power me through!

I came home from all this, famished and parched! I really must make sure I eat along the way and HYDRATE!!! (And I don’t mean with lake water! Swallowing the lake is not a good idea!) I need to make sure I have plenty of water and snacks in the transitions so that I can keep my energy up! Maybe I will give those gel packs a try! I hear they are a little icky, but definitely give you a boost! I wonder if I could stomach it? I will give it a try and let you know!

Have a great week!!!

4 thoughts on “I DID IT!!!

  1. GREAT! I decided to try it … now I’m going to do my first marathon and after I’m going to know triathlon! I’m back into the water … I’m happy 🙂

  2. I’m going … I’m going … I can not live without sport … so I try 😉 … see you @ next … I can go out … friend’s meeting about the marathon of sunday … bye 😉

Leave a Reply

