Biggest Loser – Doggy Style!

DSC_3892

Is she smoking?

First…get your mind out of the gutter! What I’m referring to, is my overweight cocker spaniel, CC. You see, while I’m out and about running, biking and swimming, my dog sits in the house, eating table scraps and practicing her “you gonna eat all of that?” puppy pout…and sometimes even sneaking doggy smokes. By the looks of her, she’s perfected an unhealthy lifestyle!

So, I decided to get her on an exercise regime. Are you picturing my floppy eared pup on a treadmill with a towel around her neck? I know hilarious, huh? No, I decided to get her outside, so she can sniff and pee her way through a mile long walk. That doesn’t sound like a lot huh? Well, you would think I was making her run a bloody marathon! (Sorry I’m practicing my British slang)

Now, I know that dogs don’t really understand what we’re saying, but somehow CC knows that “blah blah blah” means “let’s go for a walk”.Β  She runs for the door as soon as the words are out of my mouth. Then, when she sees the leash, she gets all excited and starts wagging her nub, which inturn gets her whole back side moving. It’s like she’s Beyonce!

Our walks start out at a doggy sprint, as she pulls me out the door and through the garage at break neck speeds. Then…bam…dead stop! Obviously she smelled another dog’s “doings”. So, she ads a little deposit of her own and we’re off again! And we continue like this from tree to tree and hydrant to hydrant, sniffing and depositing every 2 feet. Then, at some point, CC’s “doings” dwindle, but that doesn’t stop her from squatting. In fact, when she gets really tired, she squats even more. I call it “copping a fake squat”. It’s her stall tactic. She figures that I’ll stop walking if she has to “go”, so she “goes” or pretends to. Am I giving her too much credit? Maybe! But it’s true!

DSC_2925

So how long does it take for a dog to walk 1 mile? It’s like a riddle! 57 squats, fake or not…and about 30 minutes! At least that’s how long it takes my dog! I find myself talking her through it, coaching her to walk just a little bit farther or faster! I guess it’s like I’m her personal trainer. Now that’s a job I haven’t had yet!

Stay tuned for updates on CC’s progress!

One thought on “Biggest Loser – Doggy Style!

Leave a Reply

