Run Mom Run!!!

2193683677_a728e2bbd8_m

Photo by Mike Schubert at Creative Commons

It’s official! I am now registered for the Disney Marathon! Yep, the “Happiest Torture on Earth” takes place at Disney World on January 10th, 2010…which means I have 237 days to work up to running 26.2 miles. YIKES!!! How, exactly, does one train for this? I started researching and this is some of what I found…

Run, Fat Boy, Run

I happened upon this movie purely by accident, but found it very inspirational. This movie is about a man who is a self professed quitter. After leaving his pregnant fiance at the altar, 5 years ago, he has been blundering his way through life.  When he decides that he wants her back, he finds out that she is dating a man, who seemingly has it all…money, looks and the determination to do anything, including running marathons. As a way to prove that he is just as good as this guy, he decides to run the London Marathon, which will take place in 3 weeks. (And I thought I needed more training time!) Now, I wouldn’t call this guy fat, just extremely out of shape. He eats junk, drinks and smokes! Through a series of hilarious events, this decision begins to take on a life of its own. I won’t be a spoiler, but I highly recommend this movie to any one aspiring to run a marathon! You’ll laugh, you’ll cry, and you’ll laugh some more! Although I wouldn’t recommend his training methods.

marathontraining.com

So like any computer savvy person, I googled marathon training, and voila…this website popped up. I expected to have to pay for a training program, but this website offers one completely free and chalk full of information for anyone crazy enough to want to run 26.2 miles. I spent some time clicking through the pages, gathering information on everything from nutritional needs, to choosing the perfect shoe. What I’ve figured out is that I should start my mileage build up plan now. This 19 week plan will gradually increase my mileage, so that by the end I will have a decent base before starting the actual marathon training plan. Sounds reasonable, right? Well…maybe! You see my current weekly mileage is around 12-15 miles. By week 18 of this build up plan, I’ll be up to 35 miles….WHAT!?!?!? Is this even possible? Crap…what have I gotten myself into? Then by week 14 of the Marathon training schedule I’ll be running 46 miles, including 23 miles in one day. OMG!!!

So, my realization…this is going to be really hard!! Not to mention that it’s going to be a real commitment!  But, there’s no turning back now! I’ve already paid the money…so barring an injury, I’m going to “Run Mom Run”!!!

Leave a Reply

