Rain, rain go away!

_DSC5243Help! We’re water logged! Yes, I live in Florida and yes, just last week we had a drought going on, complete with wildfires. Now…IT WON’T STOP RAINING!!! How am I suppose to keep up my training when it won’t stop raining!!! ARRGGGHHH!!!

Now, I know I could go to the gym and run on the treadmilll, but that is just not me! It’s too confining, too crowded, too congested! I would rather run in the rain! Hey, wait, why not? Am I going to melt? While some would say that I am, in fact, a witch, I haven’t melted yet! So, is it safe? What do people who live in Seattle do? Do they run in the rain?  I did a little research on the subject, and here’s what I found…

People do, in fact, run in the rain. However, most prefer not to run in a downpour. I only wish I could control it! You know, like the sprinkler system. Set the timer to sprinkle for 40 minutes, and deluge the rest of the day! Anyway, there are a few tips that were given by these rain runners that I found helpful.

  1. Be aware of the weather forecast. Because I live in Florida, the lightning capital, it’s imperative to know whether the rain will be accompanied by lightning. If so, don’t run!
  2. Wear a hat! This will keep the rain from pelting your face and obstructing your vision.
  3. Wear proper clothing. The key is to wear light, wicking fabric that traps moisture, keeping it away from the body. Don’t over dress, this will weigh you down and tire you out!
  4. Run on a familiar path. This is not the time to run a new trail. With visibility low, it’s best to stay with the status quo. Save the adventure runs for a dry day.

So, I’m going to try out these tips and do my first rain run! I will detail my thoughts if I make it back!

Leave a Reply

