Hang-over Running=Runner’s High

417304291_6212f4020c_mSo a good, old…as in long time… friend of ours is turning the big 5-0 this month, and we surprised him with a party last night. We had a FABULOUS time, and caught up with some friends we haven’t seen in 20 years. Needless to say, there was a fully stocked libation station…bar sounds so mundane…and since I didn’t want to offend anyone, I agreed to a drink…or two. Not a lot, as far as a night of partying goes, but that second drink was really strong, thanks to my darling husband!! We had a wonderful time and left promptly at 11:30PM since I had scheduled a running rendezvous with my niece at 7:00AM. I know, 7:00AM on a Sunday, what? Why? Because we are running 5 miles per our training schedule, and it gets so hot in Florida by 9:00AM that if you don’t get going early it’s torture! You might as well just stick yourself in the oven and crank it up to 500Β°F. So, yes it’s early, but it’s better! Sleep is over-rated anyway!

So I was asleep by midnight or a little after…not great but doable! At least I thought until I woke up at 4:00AM with a massive headache and feeling dehydrated! I needed water and a Motrin, but I couldn’t get myself to move. I had a dream that I went into the kitchen, filled a glass with ice water and swallowed a Motrin, but it never really happened! So when I woke up at 6:10AM with the same headache, I was confused! This time I got up and got myself the Motrin and water. I made a pot of strong coffee and readied myself for our Sunday long run. I sent a text message to my niece explaining my ailment, and as expected, she gave me an out if I wanted to take it. But I was not going to back out…no way… my mama didn’t raise a wimp! I would run these 5 miles even if it killed me!

My niece got here and we did our normal stall tactics…stretching, talking, fiddling with the ipod…etc! Finally we got on our way. I still had a faint throbbing in my head, but it was definitely going away!Β  My breathing was heavy and I was instantly winded. I couldn’t seem to get into a rhythm. But after about a ΒΌ mile, I hit my pace and game on! I was in the sweet spot for the entire 5.52 mile run! Yeah, we ran over the required 5 miles! We so rock!! This was one of those runs that you hear people talk about, but don’t believe will happen for you! I am here to tell you…the runner’s high is real, and achievable. I could have run all day…no doubt! I only hope that I can feel this good while running the marathon! I found my slow and steady pace is around 9:45, which is faster than I expected! Cool!

So how do I achieve this feeling everytime I run? Hmmm, good question! Maybe I should tie one on the night before and run with a hang over. Or maybe I should just wash down a Motrin with a glass of water and cup of strong coffee. I don’t know, but you can bet that I am going to be searching for the secret and if I happen upon it I will share! Promise!!

Leave a Reply

