My Longest Run…

So the marathon training is kickin’ up just a tad! My schedule called for a long weekend run of 6-7 miles. I had originally planned this for Saturday. Then I realized that
1. I would be consuming adult beverages (responsibly) on Friday night…and hangovers are not always good for long morning runs.
2. Saturday would be filled with numerous chores (shopping adventures with my daughter) that are best done in the morning, before she gets cranky…but well after recovering from the night before.
3. Sunday is a much better long run day, since fewer people are on the road filling my lungs with exhaust fumes.

These sound like excuses, huh? Yeah, but only if I didn’t run on Sunday. But I did run…in fact I ran the full 7 miles with energy to spare!! HOOOO YAAAA!!! It was a beautiful morning and I found my comfortable pace right off the bat, which made for a pleasant hour + run through the hood! I was actually really surprised at how quickly an hour goes by, when your jamming to your favorite tunes and letting your mind wonder. I think I solved all the world’s problems during that 60 minute endorphin rush! But once the endorphins were gone…I couldn’t remember a single solution. Damn, I vaguely remember a cure for cancer and a compromise that brought about world peace. Oh well, maybe I’ll remember on my next run!

Leave a Reply

